Skip to main
Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 31, 2024 ) — The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) is pleased to announce that Joseph L. Fink III, BS Pharm, JD, professor emeritus of Pharmacy Practice & Science, will receive the 2024 Bowl of Hygeia award from the Kentucky Pharmacists Association (KPhA). This award honors Fink's significant contributions to the pharmacy profession and his dedication to community service.

Since joining UKCOP in 1985, Fink has been a pivotal figure, shaping the careers of many students through his mentorship and influence. As an active member of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA), he played a key role in revising the APhA code of ethics and served as the organization’s parliamentarian for over two decades.

Fink’s community service is extensive, including chairing the board at the Center for Rural Development, participating in the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists, and engaging with the liaison committee on Medical Education. He has published over 700 works in pharmacy law and served as a columnist for The Kentucky Pharmacist and as an editor of Pharmacy Law Digest for over twenty years.

"The College extends heartfelt congratulations for this well-deserved recognition,” said Dean R. Kip Guy, Ph.D. “Joe’s lifelong dedication to pharmacy exemplifies the profession's highest ideals and has inspired generations of pharmacists to make a meaningful impact in healthcare. Though he officially retired in 2022, his legacy continues to inspire all of us at the College of Pharmacy."

Throughout his career, Fink has received numerous accolades, including twice being honored with the Kentucky Alumni Association’s Great Teacher award, the oldest continuously given award for teachers at the University of Kentucky.

The formal presentation of the Bowl of Hygeia award will occur at the Galt House in Louisville, Kentucky, on Saturday, June 8, 2024, in conjunction with KPhA’s Annual Meeting. Limited tickets are available online for non-conference attendees to celebrate this momentous occasion. Alongside Fink, several UKCOP alumni will be honored, including:

  • Pharmacist of the Year: Danny R. Bentley, PharmD 
  • Distinguished Service award: Cathy Hanna, PharmD 
  • Excellence in Innovation award: Emily Gatewood, PharmD 
  • Young Pharmacist of the Year: Taylor Williams, PharmD 

For more information, visit the official KPhA website.

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.