Skip to main
Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Matthew Lane honored with national preceptor award

Alumnus and preceptor Matthew Lane, PharmD, a clinical associate professor and chief of pharmacy at the Lexington VA Health Care System, has been named a recipient of the prestigious 2024 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Distinguished Preceptor Recognition Award.

Olufunmilola Abraham joins College of Pharmacy as chair of Pharmacy Practice & Science

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) proudly announces the appointment of Olufunmilola Abraham, Ph.D., as associate professor and chair of Pharmacy Practice & Science, effective September 1, 2024.

Joseph L. Fink Honored with 2024 KPhA Bowl of Hygeia Award

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) is pleased to announce that Joseph L. Fink III, BS Pharm, JD, professor emeritus of Pharmacy Practice & Science, will receive the 2024 Bowl of Hygeia award from the Kentucky Pharmacists Association (KPhA). This award honors Fink's significant contributions to the pharmacy profession and his dedication to community service.

Kolesar Appointed Dean at University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) proudly announces that Jill Kolesar, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FCCP university research professor of Pharmacy Practice & Science, has been appointed as the next dean of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Kolesar will assume her new role on July 15.

College of Pharmacy Maintains Top National Ranking

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) is proud to announce it has upheld its position as the sixth-ranked school of pharmacy in the United States, according to the latest U.S. News & World Report rankings for 2024. This designation places UKCOP among the top echelon of 141 accredited PharmD programs nationally.

College of Pharmacy Recognizes Outstanding Preceptors in Annual Celebration

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) is proud to announce the induction of five exceptional preceptors into the prestigious Hall of Distinguished Preceptors. This honor will be bestowed during the annual awards ceremony on Friday, April 19, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. EDT. The College will extend the celebration to a broader audience by streaming the event live on its YouTube channel.

UK College of Pharmacy Recognizes Distinguished Alumni Achievements

The honorees for this year's Lifetime Achievement Award include Carol Gallagher (BS, PharmD ‘89) and Samuel Poloyac (PharmD ’95, Ph.D. ‘99), whose careers have exemplified the pinnacle of professional success, leadership, innovation, and sustained contribution. Danielle Griggs (PharmD ’14) will also be recognized with the Young Alumni Award, honoring her remarkable impact on the field within a decade of graduation. A panel comprising past inductees selected this year's recipients.

Pharmacy Associate Dean Embarks on Year-Long Journey with the DunKings

In an unprecedented collaboration between academia and the fast-food industry, the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) announces that Professor and Chief Academic Officer Frank Romanelli, PharmD, will take a one-year sabbatical to join new pop sensation the DunKings on their nationwide tour. This extraordinary opportunity comes as a result of Romanelli winning the latest and most unique contest ever offered by American multinational coffee and doughnut company Dunkin’.

Hall of Distinguished Alumni & Preceptors Ceremony

University of Kentucky Innovators Win $50K DataWorks! Challenge Prize

A collaborative team from the University of Kentucky’s Institute for Biomedical Informatics and Institute for Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, comprising Daniel Harris, Ph.D., Chris Delcher, Ph.D., and Nick Anthony, has been awarded a $50,000 prize in the 2023 DataWorks! Challenge.

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.