Skip to main
University-wide Navigation
david burgess uky headshot
All Faculty
Pharmacy Practice & Science Dept.
Lee T. Todd, Jr. Bldg, Ste 292K

Dr. David S. Burgess, a native of Mayfield, Ky, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science. He earned a BS in biology and chemistry from Murray State University, a BS in Pharmacy from the University of Kentucky and his Pharm.D. from the Medical University of South Carolina. He completed a residency in Critical Care/Surgery and an Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy Fellowship at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Prior to joining the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy in September 2012, Dr. Burgess was at the University of Texas College of Pharmacy and University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio for 18 years In 2008, he was named Head of the Pharmacotherapy Division at the UT College of Pharmacy and the Director of the Pharmacotherapy Research and Education Center in the School of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Dr. Burgess has served on the Board of Directors as well as President-elect, President, and Past-President for the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists. He is a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (FCCP) and Fellow of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Academic Leadership Program. Dr. Burgess research interests lie in the area of infectious disease due to bacteria by focusing on understanding the mechanisms of resistance, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and outcomes of antibacterial pharmacotherapy. He has provided a vast number of presentations and authored numerous scientific publications.



  • Infectious disease due to bacteria by focusing on understanding the mechanisms of resistance
  • Outcomes of antibacterial pharmacotherapy
  • Pre-clinical and clinical trials and outcomes
  • Academic Leadership


PharmD Medical University of South Carolina

BS University of Kentucky

BS Murray State University

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.