Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

How One Pharmacist Supports the Next Generation

In honor of Preceptor Appreciation Month, we spoke with the UK College of Pharmacy 2020 Preceptor of the Year, Megan May, PharmD. May has been a preceptor since 2014 and currently works as the first ever Clinical Oncology Pharmacy Specialist at Baptist Health Lexington.  As such, May had the opportunity to develop her position within the Cancer Center’s Medical Oncology Clinic, Gynecologic Oncology Clinic, and Outpatient Infusion Center.

Shining Leadership: Helping Pharmacy Students Find Their Way

Continuing our highlights for Preceptor Appreciation Month, we spoke with Jessica Tackett about her experience as a preceptor for the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy over the last decade. Tackett has been a preceptor with UKCOP for 11 years and currently works as a Clinical Pharmacist at the UK HealthCare Good Samaritan Hospital. She helps care for hospitalized patients by optimizing medication usage, facilitating short length of hospital stays and ensuring that patient needs are met at discharge for their transition home.

Jill Turner Awarded Neuropharmacology Early Career Award

Jill Turner, a University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy assistant professor was recently awarded the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) Neuropharmacology Early Career Award for 2021.

How Women Pharmacists Sparked a National Conversation around Sexual Harassment

In 2017 the #MeToo Movement took the world of Hollywood by storm as dozens of women came forward with their experiences with sexual harassment. These stories created a domino effect in other industries as more women began to come forward, and the world began to see what women already knew: sexual harassment was a universal problem. As other industries worked on dealing with these "revelations," the field of pharmacy remained quiet.

UK College of Pharmacy Celebrates Lyman T. Johnson Award Winner William Ifeachor (’12)

The Lyman T. Johnson African American Group, in partnership with the University of Kentucky Office for Institutional Diversity, hosted the 30th Annual Lyman T. Johnson Torch Bearer and Torch of Excellence Awards on Feb. 1 virtually. Each college was asked to nominate alumni who embody the characteristics of determination and hard work and have affected the lives of people on campus, the community, the state, or our nation. The UK College of Pharmacy selected alumna William Ifeachor as the recipient of the 2021 Lyman T. Johnson Torch of Excellence Award.

College of Pharmacy Celebrates Lyman T. Johnson Award Winner Anisa Moore

The UK College of Pharmacy's very own Anisa Moore was awarded the 30th annual Lyman T. Johnson Torch Bearer Award. The Lyman T. Johnson award is presented by the University of Kentucky Alumni Association’s Lyman T. Johnson African American Alumni Group and the University of Kentucky Office of Institutional Diversity.

Kentucky Pharmacists Association Announces Ben Mudd as New Executive Director

The Kentucky Pharmacists Association KPhA Board of Directors has selected University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy 2012 alum and pharmacist, Dr. Benjamin Mudd, as their next Executive Director/CEO. 

Prisinzano Named New Director of UK’s Center for Pharmaceutical Research and Innovation

Thomas Prisinzano, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been named director of the Center for Pharmaceutical Research and Innovation (CPRI). Prisinzano replaces former Director Jon Thorson, who was recently promoted to associate dean of research in the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy.

College of Pharmacy Adds 11th Affiliated Pharmacy Residency Program

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy is adding its 11th affiliated pharmacy residency program through its partnership with The Medical Center at Bowling Green.

Cindy Stowe Named 2020 Paul Parker Award Recipient

Cindy Stowe (BS ’91, PharmD ’91, R201), Dean at the University of Arkansas for Medical Science College of Pharmacy, has been named the 2020 recipient of the Paul F. Parker Award. She will receive the award during the 2020 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Midyear Meeting.

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.