Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

AAAS and University of Kentucky Announce 2019 Fellows

R. Kip Guy, dean and professor of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Rachael Stone and Team Win Student Case Competition at CAB VII Conference

Rachael Stone and her team won first in the Student Case Competition and third place in the Student Poster Competition at the Collaborating Across Borders (CAB) VII Conference in October. Collaborating Across Borders is an international conference that promotes interprofessionalism with the goal of advancing interprofessional, collaborative practice to improve quality care and health outcomes.

10th Annual TODD Symposium Winners

With over 300 registrants and a lineup of fantastic speakers, the 10th Annual TODD Symposium was a terrific success. Photos of the event can be found on our Facebook page. Poster Awards Graduate Students Nader El Seblani John Brown G Yeon Oh Postdocs Miranda Fisher Shogo Mori Lindsey Hammerslag

College of Pharmacy Receives Multiple Honors at ACCP Meeting

Frank Romanelli received the Educator Award Jimmi Hatton became the President-Elect and member of the Board of Regents for the next 3 years Jill Kolesar finished her 3-year term on the Board of Regents and served as President-Elect, President, and Immediate Past President David Burgess became the Chair of the ACCP Foundation Board of Trustees Alex Flannery became Chair or Chair-elect of the Critical Care ACCP PRN Brittany Bissell became Chair or Chair-elect of the Pulmonary ACCP PRN Abby Bailey became Chair-elect of Emergency

Life-Saving Patient Care Starts with An Inclusive Education

This year, the University of Kentucky reflects on 70 years of integration. Given this significant occasion, we cannot help but examine how segregation and classism have impacted health care outcomes for vulnerable patient populations. It is only when we grapple with the prejudiced legacy of health care and access that we can truly improve a system that has not served us all equally, but one day can.

UKCOP is First School of Pharmacy to Require Coursework in Diagnosis as Part of PharmD Program

When we launched our new core curriculum in the fall of 2016, we did so with the commitment to continue advancing the pharmacy profession. As the pharmacy practice model has moved from hometown apothecaries to pharmacists being a central point of care for many in the United States, we wanted to make sure our students were more than equipped to practice at the top of their license. As a result, we introduced Differential Diagnosis as a required 2-credit hour stand-alone course for our third-year professional students.

Aaron Cook Named Fellow of Neurocritical Care

On October 15, 2019, Dr. Aaron Cook, R275 (PharmD '00) was named Fellow of Neurocritical Care (FNCS) recipient at the Neurocritical Care Society meeting in Vancouver. This is a well-deserved honor and the culmination of years of advanced practice, research, and service to the society. The Fellow of Neurocritical Care Society qualifications are based on contributions to the field of neurocritical care in the areas of professionalism and collaborative multi-professional practice, program development, scholarly activity, and leadership.

Romanelli to Receive ACCP Honors in New York

Susan C. Fagan, Alicia B. Forinash, Gary R. Matzke, John E.Murphy, Edith A. Nutescu, and Frank Romanelli have been selected by the College’s Awards Committee to receive ACCP’s prestigious 2019 Therapeutic Frontiers Lecture Award, Clinical Practice Award, C. Edwin Webb Professional Advocacy Award, Robert M. Elenbaas Service Award, Russell R. Miller Award, and Education Award respectively. The awards will be presented in New York, New York, on Sunday morning, October 27, during the Awards and Recognition Ceremony of the College’s 2019 Annual Meeting.

Jimmi Hatton Kolpek (R151) Named 2019 Paul Parker Award Recipient

Jimmi Hatton Kolpek, PharmD (R151), faculty at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and President-elect of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), has been named the 2019 recipient of the Paul F. Parker Award. She will receive the award at the 2019 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Caleb Akers Awarded the Dennis Casey Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering Graduate Student Travel Award

Caleb Akers has been awarded the Dennis Casey Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering Graduate Student Travel Award. The purpose of this award is to assist a graduate student in the Division of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering with travel expenses related to attending an AAPS or appropriate alternative scientific meeting. Graduate students benefit significantly by presenting their research at a scientific meeting.

Filter News

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.