Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Rachael Stone and Team Win Student Case Competition at CAB VII Conference

Rachael Stone and her team won first in the Student Case Competition and third place in the Student Poster Competition at the Collaborating Across Borders (CAB) VII Conference in October. Collaborating Across Borders is an international conference that promotes interprofessionalism with the goal of advancing interprofessional, collaborative practice to improve quality care and health outcomes.

10th Annual TODD Symposium Winners

With over 300 registrants and a lineup of fantastic speakers, the 10th Annual TODD Symposium was a terrific success. Photos of the event can be found on our Facebook page. Poster Awards Graduate Students Nader El Seblani John Brown G Yeon Oh Postdocs Miranda Fisher Shogo Mori Lindsey Hammerslag

Caleb Akers Awarded the Dennis Casey Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering Graduate Student Travel Award

Caleb Akers has been awarded the Dennis Casey Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering Graduate Student Travel Award. The purpose of this award is to assist a graduate student in the Division of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Engineering with travel expenses related to attending an AAPS or appropriate alternative scientific meeting. Graduate students benefit significantly by presenting their research at a scientific meeting.

UKCOP Students Named American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Awardees

The American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) recently announced the 34 recipients of their Pre-Doctoral Fellowships and Gateway Award for the 2019-2020 academic year. The Pre-Doctoral Fellowships support Ph.D. candidates and allows them to focus their time fully on their research project. They also offer the following specific-Doctoral Fellowships: the Dr. Paul B. Myrdal Memorial Pre-Doctoral Fellowship, Dr.

Sylvie Garneau-Tsodikova Selected as AAAS IF/THEN Ambassador

The University of Kentucky (UK) is proud to announce that Sylvie Garneau-Tsodikova, PhD has been selected as one of the 125 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) IF/THEN Ambassadors. IF/THEN, a national initiative of Lyda Hill Philanthropies, seeks to further women in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) by empowering current innovators and inspiring the next generation of pioneers.

Henson Awarded 2019 American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

David Henson has been awarded a 2019 American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship for his project entitled: Modulation of antibodies targeting apolipoprotein A-I to reduce atherosclerosis in a mouse model. The award is for $26,844 each year for two years.

Graduate Alumni Return to Campus

Graduate program alumni, Dr. Melissa Rondeau, Dr. Joanna Koziara, Dr. Kamalika Mukherjee, and Dr. David Horton recently returned to campus to meet with current graduate students and discuss career options. It is always a welcome privilege to hear what our students have been up to since they graduated from our program. Melissa Rondeau (’11) is currently Vice-President of Clinical Services at Symbiotix in Lexington. Her talk covered her career path and how she transitioned into medical writing.

UK Students Awarded Pre-Doctoral Fellowships in Pharmaceutics for 2019

Julie Calahan and Matt Defrese have been awarded Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellowships in Pharmaceutics for 2019. This award provides a stipend of $20,000 per year for up to two years. The PhRMA Foundation funds scientists at critical points in their research careers to support and reward innovation in disciplines essential to the development of safe and effective medicines.

Graduate Student Claims First-Place at American Society for Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics Meeting

Reiya Hayden, a graduate student in the laboratory of Dr. Markos Leggas, received the first-place award for her poster presentation at the annual American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics meeting on April 7, 2019. The title of her poster was “Mithramycin analogues disrupt ETS transcription factor DNA binding.”

College Announces Graduate Program Communications Advisory Board

In an effort to better serve our graduate students and alumni, the UK College of Pharmacy (UKCOP) has partnered with alumni to establish a Communications Advisory Board for the graduate research program. The alumni-run Advisory Board was created in spring 2019 to assist the College in its outreach efforts to students and alumni of the PhD program. This group will serve as a liaison to the College of Pharmacy, helping to enhance their communication efforts and providing critical feedback on alumni needs.

Filter News

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.