Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

AACP officially announced the 85 student/faculty recipients for the 2018 AACP Walmart Scholars Program, and students, faculty, and alumni from UK College of Pharmacy all made the list. Strengthening a commitment toward a career in academic pharmacy, each pair will receive $1,000 to be used toward Pharmacy Education 2018. Congratulations to all award winners, and we especially like to highlight those with Kentucky ties (bolded below).

Erin L. Hickey, The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy

Faculty Mentor: Kelly Smith

Taylor Hunt, The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy

Faculty Mentor: Jeff Cain

H Andrew Wilsey, The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy

Faculty Mentor: Craig Martin

Natalie Rosario, Palm Beach Atlantic University Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy

Faculty Mentor: Amy Henneman

Katy Stephens, University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy

Faculty Mentor: Peter N. Johnson

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.