Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Jimmi Hatton Kolpek, PharmD (R151), faculty at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and President-elect of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), has been named the 2019 recipient of the Paul F. Parker Award. She will receive the award at the 2019 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Paul F. Parker Award is given annually to a past resident of the University of Kentucky (UK) Pharmacy Residency Program or to an individual intimately associated with the success of the program. This award recognizes an individual who has displayed sustained contribution to the profession in practice, teaching or research; a commitment to high ideals and excellence in their chosen field; leadership and innovation; and a passion to encourage the personal and professional growth of others.

Hatton Kolpek has held many roles at the UK College of Pharmacy, including tenured professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. She provides advanced pharmacy practice, clinical research ethics, and critical care therapeutics instruction to professional students, residents and graduate students in the Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine. At the hospital, she has been an active preceptor and director of the PGY2 Critical Care Program. In her earlier years, Hatton Kolpek worked primarily with the UK HealthCare neurosurgery team and became a fixture in the neurological intensive care unit (ICU). Her integration of research and teaching with her practice creates a unique environment for resident learning.

Hatton Kolpek’s clinical practice has transitioned from acute critical care to ICU Recovery Clinics, treating patients suffering post-ICU syndrome. She continues pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic research projects with critical care colleagues and the Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center. Her research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), private foundations, industry and by UK. She has served on the study section and participated as a scientific reviewer for NIH NINDS and DOD.

Hatton Kolpek was a member of UK’s Internal Review Board (IRB) and served as vice-chair until 2019. She became the director of the ACCP Research and Scholarship Academy in 2014 and participates as a faculty member and mentor in their MeRIT program. In addition, she is a member of the editorial board for Neurocritical Care, A Journal of Acute and Emergency Care. She was honored by the ACCP as a Fellow in 1997 and by the American College of Critical Care Medicine in 2005. Her collaborative interprofessional commitment was acknowledged by the National Academies of Practice in 2017 when she was honored as Distinguished Scholar and Fellow.

Nationally, Hatton Kolpek has made substantial contributions to the profession and most recently was elected as incoming President for ACCP. She is truly a national figure representing the highly esteemed pharmacy programs at University of Kentucky.

The Parker Luncheon will be held at 11:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas. To register for the luncheon, click here:

We wish to remember and honor those who inhabited this Commonwealth before the arrival of the Europeans. Briefly occupying these lands were the Osage, Wyndott tribe, and Miami peoples. The Adena and Hopewell peoples, who are recognized by the naming of the time period in which they resided here, were here more permanently. Some of their mounds remain in the Lexington area, including at UK’s Adena Park.

In more recent years, the Cherokee occupied southeast Kentucky, the Yuchi southwest Kentucky, the Chickasaw extreme western Kentucky and the Shawnee central Kentucky including what is now the city of Lexington. The Shawnee left when colonization pushed through the Appalachian Mountains. Lower Shawnee Town ceremonial grounds are still visible in Greenup County.

We honor the first inhabitants who were here, respect their culture, and acknowledge the presence of their descendants who are here today in all walks of life including fellow pharmacists and healthcare professionals.