Anderson Named APhA Fellow

April 14, 2005

Heidi Milia Anderson, Ph.D., professor and assistant dean for education innovation at the UK College of Pharmacy, was elected as a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) during the APhA 2005 Annual Meeting held in Orlando. She was among eight Fellows elected by the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) which requires a minimum of 10 years of professional experience and achievements in professional practice. An APhA Fellow also has rendered outstanding service to the profession through activities in APhA and in other organizations.

Continue Reading

Black Raspberry-based Therapy Developed

April 10, 2005

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 11, 2005) -- The University of Kentucky's Center for Pharmaceutical Science and Technology has collaborated with Ohio State University (OSU) cancer researchers in developing the anti-cancer properties of black raspberries to fight head and neck cancer. Researchers at the universities have found that freeze-dried berries can inhibit the growth of several forms of cancer in rats and hamsters, so they've now begun testing the berries in humans.

Continue Reading

Louis Diamond to Present Swintosky Lecture

April 10, 2005

Louis Diamond, Ph.D., Dean of the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, has been selected as the 2005 Swintosky Distinguished Lecturer at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. Dr. Diamond will present "Flip-Flopping Along the Road to Rational Therapeutics," at 10 a.m. April 14 in the UK Hospital Auditorium.

Continue Reading

UK College of Pharmacy Students Receive Top Honors in Orlando

April 06, 2005

Top honors went to the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy during the annual American Pharmacists Association (APhA) meeting in Orlando. The College's chapter of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) was named Chapter of the Year during an awards ceremony April 4. Seventy-seven colleges from across the U.S. and Puerto Rico competed for the award. The recognition follows the release last week of rankings by U.S. News & World Report. The College maintained its position as a Top 10 pharmacy school despite overcrowded classrooms and facilities.

Continue Reading

Fink Receives National Pharmacy Leadership Award

April 03, 2005

Joseph L. Fink III, B.S.Pharm, J.D., professor of pharmacy at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, has received the 2005 Phi Lambda Sigma-Procter & Gamble National Leadership Award. The award is the highest recognition provided by the national pharmacy leadership society for pharmacists and places recipients among the great leaders of the profession.

Continue Reading

Resident Accepts Position in DC

March 23, 2005

Dr. Ibis Lopez has accepted a position as a pediatric hematology-oncology pharmacy specialist at Children's National Medical Center in Washington DC starting in September. We wish her well as she continues her pediatric career and now have another friend to look up in Washington. I am confident that she will add to the institution's success...continue...

Continue Reading

Amerson Receives Sarah Bennett Holmes Award

March 22, 2005

Dr. Ann Amerson has just received the 12th Annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Award for her service in promoting the growth and well being of women at UK. She was nominated along with 11 other female employees and was selected as the only faculty recipient of the award. Dr. Amerson has been inspiring women as a role model for 36 years at UK, and this award was truly fitting for all her work here. We are incredibly proud that she has received this award, and wish to congratulate her on all that she has accomplished. Please click on the link for more information about the award.

Continue Reading

Fletcher Announces Funding for New Pharmacy Building

March 14, 2005

Gov. Ernie Fletcher officially announced Tuesday $40 million in funding for a new pharmacy building as part of his statewide tour promoting bipartisan accomplishments in the General Assembly. Funding that will help expand the pharmacy program was one of many budgeted items Fletcher mentioned during a news conference held on the UK campus. Money also has been allocated for hospital expansion, an animal diagnostic center, student health services and a sports practice facility.

Continue Reading

Dr. Fink Honored

March 08, 2005

Joseph L. Fink III was recognized at the Third Annual Conference of the Ohio Valley Affiliates for Life Sciences in Dayton, OH, on March 7, with an award for his role as a founder of the organization and leadership as a member of the Steering Committee 2002-2005. The Ohio Valley Affiliates for Life Sciences (OVALS) was created in 2002 as a forum to discuss and stimulate economic development opportunities for life sciences within the "Ohio Valley" region. The goals of the partnership are to: - Increase regional visibility for existing life sciences assets

Continue Reading

PPS Faculty to take part in ACCP Spring Practice and Research Forum

March 03, 2005

A number of our department faculty will be traveling to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina April 10th through the 13th to participate in the 2005 Spring Practice and Research Forum put on by ACCP. For a complete listing of the activities, including a list of participants. continue...

Continue Reading