UK College of Pharmacy Graduates the Class of 2015

May 10, 2015

The University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy honored 139 students at the 2015 Graduation Recognition Ceremony May 8 at the UK Singletary Center for the Arts.

Of those completing requirements for degrees, 10 students have earned a PhD in pharmaceutical sciences and 129 students were awarded the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree.

Following the presentation of diplomas, PharmD graduates recited the Pharmacist's Oath led by Bob Oakley, President of the Kentucky Pharmacists Association Board of Directors.

Several PharmD students received awards during the ceremony for their excellence in the classroom, leadership in student organizations, and commitment to community. Student award winners included:

Allison Ratcliff Award

• Lucas Emerson Orth

American Pharmacy Services Corporation Independent Pharmacy Award

• Laurel Ann Taylor

APhA-ASP Professionalism Award

• Brooke Rachelle Herndon

Oscar C. Dilly Award for Excellence in Pharmacy Administration

• Ryan P. Hickson

Doughty-Hartman Award

• Brent Allen Simpkins

Excellence in Clinical Communication Award

• Elyse Joy Pennington

Jefferson County Academy of Pharmacy Award

• Teia Ashten Brandenburg

Kaplin-Passamaneck Award

• David Joseph Roy

KPhA Excellence in Geriatric Practice Award

• Holly A. Long

Merck Award

• Brette Hogan Conliffe, Savannah Leigh Lindsey and Mary Alexandra Schickli

Mylan Excellence In Pharmacy Award

• Ann Rehm Cowden

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award

• Cristina Ann Rotellar

Pharmacists Mutual Book Award

• Alexis Kjellsen

James Rhodes Award

• Matthew Thomas Scherrer

Alvin L. Schulte Award

• Jonathan Corwin Hughes

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Award

• Jason Edward Davis

KPhA Outstanding Graduating Man Award

• Christopher Terry

KPhA Outstanding Graduating Woman Award

• Abigail Moorman

Several faculty members were recognized for their excellence inside and outside of the classroom during the ceremony as well.

Holly Divine and Melanie Mabins, faculty members in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, received the Lach Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching Practices. The award is named in memory of Michael J. Lach, former manager of information technology at the UK College of Pharmacy, who lost his battle with cancer in 1998.

Trenika Mitchell was honored with the William T. Miles Award established by Miles' son, the late Curtis W. Miles, a 1918 graduate of the Louisville College of Pharmacy, who wished to encourage and recognize faculty members who share their expertise with community groups and volunteer agencies.

Faculty members David Feola and Jim Pauly were honored with Senior Class Awards for Teaching Excellence. Those awards are voted upon by the graduating PharmD class.

William “Russ” Judd, Antimicrobial Stewardship Coordinator at Saint Joseph Hospital in Lexington, was honored as the 2015 Preceptor of the Year.