Record Named 2015 Paul Parker Award Recipient

November 16, 2015

Kenneth Record, a UK College of Pharmacy alumnus and R#63 in the UK HealthCare Pharmacy Residency program, has been named the 2015 recipient of the Paul F. Parker Award. Dr. Record will receive his honor at the 2015 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The Parker Luncheon will be held at 11 a.m. Tuesday, December 8 at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside. To register for the luncheon, click here:

The Paul F. Parker Award is given annually to a past resident of the University of Kentucky Pharmacy Residency Program or to an individual intimately associated with the success of the program. This award recognizes an individual who has displayed sustained contribution to the profession in practice, teaching or research; a commitment to high ideals and excellence in their chosen field; leadership and innovation; and a passion to encourage the personal and professional growth of others.

Dr. Record is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. After earning his Bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the College in 1973, he was piqued by the emerging clinical pharmacy world – particularly what was occurring at the UK Chandler Medical Center. Under the direction and mentorship of Drs. Paul Parker and Robert Rapp, he completed a combined Doctor of Pharmacy and pharmacy residency in 1978.

For most of his career, he has focused his clinical practice in Acute Care Surgery/Trauma with an emphasis on residency training, surgical infectious diseases, and surgical critical care. He has also dedicated himself to bringing his clinical experience to the classroom. He has been a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist for 21 years and enthusiastically supports board certification of pharmacists.

His current interests include clinical pharmacy education and student assessment. Dr. Record is a recipient of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Innovations in Teaching Award in 2001 and the UK College of Pharmacy Michael J. Lach Faculty Award for Innovative Teaching Practices in 2006.