J. Russell May Named 2018 Parker Award Recipient

November 14, 2018

Dr. J. Russell (Rusty) May, a UK College of Pharmacy alumnus and R98 in the UK HealthCare Pharmacy Residency program, has been named the 2018 recipient of the Paul F. Parker Award. May will receive this honor at UK's annual Parker Luncheon at the 2018 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Anaheim, California.


Continue Reading

Russell J. Mumper, PhD

Russell Mumper ('91) Named Vice President for Research at Alabama

October 24, 2018

Dr. Russell J. Mumper has been named The University of Alabama’s vice president for research and economic development effective Jan. 1, 2019.

A vice provost from the University of Georgia who previously led four research centers or institutes co-founded five start-up companies, and received nearly $30 million in research grants and contracts, Mumper was selected following a national search.


Continue Reading

black and white photo of mary ensom

The Power of the Kentucky Connection

October 11, 2018

When Mary H. H. Ensom first chose to call the University of Kentucky (UK) her home in 1973, she was an engineering major at her father’s encouragement. Ensom’s father, Pete Huang, set an inspiring example for his three children as a distinguished civil engineering professor at UK. Nonetheless, her father’s passion for engineering wasn’t enough to prevent Ensom from realizing that her interests and talent were leading her in a different direction.


Continue Reading

Frank Romanelli

Frank Romanelli Named Interim Associate Dean of Academic & Student Affairs

June 04, 2018

LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 4, 2018) – Frank Romanelli, a faculty member in the College’s Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science and Associate Dean of Educational Advancement for the College, has been named Interim Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs.


Romanelli takes over for former Associate Dean Kelly M. Smith, who was recently named Dean at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.


“I am excited and honored to serve in this capacity,” said Romanelli. 


Continue Reading

Dr. Kelly Smith

Kelly Smith Named Dean of UGA College of Pharmacy

May 18, 2018

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 18, 2018) – Kelly M. Smith, associate dean for academic and student affairs at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, has been named dean of the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy. 


Continue Reading

Open prescription bottle on its side with pills spilling out

Pharmacists’ Authority to Deliver Protocol-Driven Care Set to Impact Patient and Public Health Across Kentucky

May 01, 2018

The culmination of almost two years of collaborative effort was achieved this past December when the Health & Welfare & Family Services Interim Joint Committee of the Kentucky Legislature approved regulation 201 KAR 2:380, board authorized protocols.


Continue Reading

A transparent skull model in a corridor

A Closer Look at Blood-Brain Barrier Dysfunction in Epilepsy

May 01, 2018

LEXINGTON, Ky. (May 01, 2018) - New findings from the University of Kentucky published in the Journal of Neuroscience demonstrate that there may be ways to address blood-brain barrier dysfunction in epilepsy.


Continue Reading

black coffee mug sitting on desk with "we work" written on the side

UKCOP Makes the Cut - AACP Announces 2018 Walmart Scholars

April 11, 2018

AACP officially announced the 85 student/faculty recipients for the 2018 AACP Walmart Scholars Program, and students, faculty, and alumni from UK College of Pharmacy all made the list. Strengthening a commitment toward a career in academic pharmacy, each pair will receive $1,000 to be used toward Pharmacy Education 2018.

Continue Reading

Man and woman in a research lab

Everything is Science: UK Hosts City-Wide Science Festival

March 22, 2018

A group of professors and students at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, along with community partners like Keeneland and AllTech are working together to introduce the Lexington community to the science around us. Everything is Science is a science festival that will be held at different locations all throughout the city, with concurrent events happening Thursday, April 26th through Saturday, April 28th.

Continue Reading

Anne Policastri Named New Director, ASHP Membership and Affiliate Relations Division

March 05, 2018

Anne Policastri, Pharm.D., M.B.A., FASHP, FKSHP, will join ASHP as the new Director, Membership and Affiliate Relations Division within the Office of Member Relations. The position will lead efforts to oversee relationships with state affiliates, among others, and to assist in membership growth and development.


Continue Reading